And with that, I give you my hiatus

If you follow me on Twitter or just happen to read my blog, you’ll know that I’ve made my thoughts on social media pretty clear. If you’re not familiar with them, check out this blog post I wrote.

And that’s where I leave you.

At present, I am in the midst of a Masters degree which is taking over my life, even when it shouldn’t be. When I’m not physically working on something, I spend every waking minute thinking about it. As much as I’d love to stop that, I can’t. I’ve paid a lot of money and put in a lot of hard work to give up now, just a few months from the end. I’m also in the process of relocating for a new job (more on that at some other point, but it’s pretty damn exciting).

But between these things (more so my degree), it means I don’t have a lot of time to worry about anything else. Yes I am pretty stressed right now. And no, I’m not coping particularly well.

That being said, it’s time for me to go away from social media for a little while. It’ll probably only be for a few days, but I just need to clear my head and crack on with everything that is important. Social media is not.

Checking Twitter and Facebook has become a daily chore. I open the apps, scroll through my timeline, and close the apps again, only to repeat the process less than half an hour later. It has become so ingrained into my daily life that I don’t even think about doing it. But when I step back and think about it, the routine of doing it is laborious, and the content I see makes me feel awful. That’s why I don’t really use Instagram anymore, because I don’t need to see regular pictures of beautiful people to remind me that I’m not. That’s started to spread into my other social networks too, and I’m honestly not here for it.

I didn’t get into £60,000 worth of student debt to only have my social media history to show for it. Damn, I’ve worked hard and I know that, but now it’s time to get serious. With two deadlines looming and a dissertation deadline rearing its ugly head, I need to get my ass off of Twitter and focus on me, my mental state and everything I’ve worked so hard for.

I know that this might seem like a bit of a long winded post just for a few days of social media hiatus, but I connect with a lot of people on a daily basis, and I don’t want you to think I’m ignoring you! And it’s also important to document the “social media struggle” and how what we see and do affects us, because I know it’s not just me who feels this way.

I’ll be signing out of Facebook and Twitter on Tuesday night, but will stay signed in to Messenger if anyone needs me, (ha).

I’ll probably be back at the end of the week, or maybe not. Who knows!

Leave a comment